Celia's Toyshop to be premiered by the Riot Ensemble

I'm delighted that Celia's Toyshop for sextet will receive its world premiere on Thursday 16th February, 7.30pm at Brixton East 1871.

The Riot Ensemble celebrates the beginning of 2017 with a return to Brixton East 1871 in an evening filled with chamber music from around the world.  Come hear some of Europe’s top performers in an array of World and UK Premieres, along with the customary £5 bottles of wine!

The concert includes Hayirli Olsun for Trombone, Harpischord, Percussion and Piano by Utku Asuroglu (UK Premiere); Shades of Silence for String Trio and Harpsichord by Anna Thorvaldsdottir (UK Premiere), Hammock by Kerry AndrewCelia’s Toyshop by Michael Cryne (World Premiere), Wolke über Bäumen for solo violin with gut strings and baroque bow by Evan Johnson (UK Premiere), and our second performance of Television Continuity Poses, which we co-commissioned with BBC Radio 3 from Jack Sheen.

Performers: Kate Walter, Flute; Ausias Garrigos, Clarinet; Andy Connington, Trombone; Goska Isphording, Harpsichord; Sarah Mason, Percussion; Claudia Maria Racovicean, Piano; Sarah Dacey, Soprano; Sarah Saviet, Violin; Stephen Upshaw, Viola; and Louise McMonagle, Cello

You can find out more and book tickets here http://riotensemble.com/celias-toyshop/


More of Celia's Toyshop to be workshopped by Kokoro

I'm pleased that Celia's toyshop has been selected to be presented at the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra's Composers' Day, with Kokoro and Mark-Anthony Turnage. Kokoro workshopped two of the pieces from the suite in 2015, and I'm delighted to be returning to Bournemouth to workshop 2 more of the pieces. 

The BSO’s biennial Composers’ Day is set to return in 2017 on Saturday 18 February for an engaging day of composition workshops, discussions and networking. Following a nationwide call for scores, the successful works which will be performed and discussed in workshops on the day have been chosen by a selection panel led by Mark-Anthony Turnage, the lead composer for the 2017 programme. As a composer of truly international stature, Turnage is one of the most relevant communicators and creators today and has worked with high profile names including Bernard Haitink, Sir Simon Rattle and English National Opera. His works are renowned for their fusion of popular and serious culture, and their unflinching portrayal of the realities of modern life.

You can find out more information on the BSO Composers' Day here.

A Tale of Two Cities

I'm pleased to start work as musical director for a production of  Charles Dickens' A Tale of Two Cities at the Royal & Derngate theatre in Northampton. Dickens considered his novel A Tale Of Two Cities “the best story I have ever written.” Interweaving one family’s intensely personal drama with the terror and chaos of the French Revolution, it is an epic story of love, sacrifice and redemption amidst horrific violence and world changing events.

Following its celebrated premiere as part of the Made In Northampton 2014 season, the UK Theatre Award nominated production returns to the Royal stage for one week only ahead of a major national tour.

In an age when governments across the world seem impotent in the face of increasing unrest, this bold dramatic adaptation by Mike Poulton (Fortune’s Fool, Old Vic; Wolf Hall, RSC) set to rousing original music by Oscar-winning composer Rachel Portman (The Cider House Rules, Beloved) seems more relevant than ever. It is directed by Artistic Director James Dacre, designed by Mike Britton (Cat On A Hot Tin Roof, To Sir With Love) and featuring one of the largest acting companies to ever appear on the Royal’s stage.

Magnus Lindberg conducts five world premieres including works by Michael Cryne and Robert Peate

On 4th July 2016, the Royal College of Music and London Philharmonic Orchestra join forces for Debut Sounds: Dérive: a one-of-a-kind-event presented by BBC Radio 3’s Sara Mohr-Pietsch, featuring works by Boulez, Knussen or Lindberg as well as world premieres by five young composers including Michael Cryne and Robert Peate, to be conducted by Magnus Lindberg himself.

These premieres will be performed by members of the London Philharmonic Orchestra and its Foyle Future Firsts Development Programme. Each work was written specially for an LPO member to perform as soloist with the ensemble (made of the orchestra members) behind them. Among the five premieres is Robert Peate’s Violin Concerto and Michael Cryne’s Prometheus Bound.

To hear both premieres as well as an array of works by 20th-century compositional giants, head to the Amaryllis Fleming concert hall at the RCM on Monday 4th July 2016 from 7.30pm. More information and tickets on this link.

Ruthless Jabiru to premiere Slipstream Monday 25th July

Monday, July 25, 2016 will see the world premiere of Michael Cryne‘s “Slipstream” performed by the London chamber orchestra Ruthless Jabiru as part of the Tempting Failure festival in London.

‘Slipstream’ was written for all-Australian String Orchestra Ruthless Jabiru as part of Sound and Music’s Portfolio Scheme. The piece is based on the sculpture created by Richard Wilson for Heathrow Airport in 2014. ‘Slipstream’ is inspired by the exhilarating potential of flight, coupled with the physical aesthetics of aircraft. Constructed in aluminium, the piece aimed to solidify the twisting velocity of a stunt plane manoeuvring through the volume of the new terminal. I aimed to capture this dynamism musically; energetic lines twist and turn with a constant sense of energy.

Conducted by its founding Artistic Director Kelly Lovelady, Ruthless Jabiru will perform the piece in a noise-inspired programme of music for string orchestra by Julia Wolfe, Gloria Coates, Cat Hope, Osvaldo Golijov and Michael Cryne exploring the aural narrative around the suffocation of the arts by fuel dependency. For this occasion, the new music ensemble dedicated to championing humanitarian stories through its performance will join forces with Art Not Oil calling for London’s cultural organisations to turn their backs on fossil fuels.

Find more information on the performance here.